Friday, February 28, 2025

Why Arsenal need to stop being delusional fans and give themselves every single excuse of their problems?

1. Liverpool have had their own injuries last year, worse than Arsenal's this year.

I don't think I need to remind you again what happened to our squad last season. It's always frustrating to have an injury crisis at key moments of the season. We've faced far worse injuries than Arsenal last season yet we were still able to keep pace for most of the season despite all this. It was a remarkable achievement that we even won a League Cup with a team with mostly academy kids against a full XI of Chelsea while having literally an entire first XI out. Even won Barcelona in the UCL without Salah and Firmino in the squad, not even making the bench. This was something that even rival fans had big respect for, in David-vs-Goliath moments like this. So what excuse do you have? We had it so bad last year, no one cared about us. 

Then when you have yours this year, you keep playing the victim card every time. So get on with it, and experience the very same pain we did last season.

2. We're just better even though our team is far from complete.

Now even with Saka, Martinelli, Odegaard fit and fully on form, Liverpool are just better than Arsenal in every way even with gaping holes in our squad. This season it shows that after 13 games in, we've already 9 points ahead while Alisson, Konate and Diogo Jota were sidelined to injury at that point. And that was our matchday against Man City of all people where we won 2-0. You can always check Transfermarkt to see the progression of each Match Day. We were just more consistent in every way. 


Our Matchday 13 without Alisson, Konate, Jota.

That was when Arsenal beat Wolves 5-2 away with Trossard, Saka, Martinelli, all of their forwards available.

MatchDay 13 when Arsenal was still fully fit with no injuries and after
we beat Manchester City 2-0 while injuries are already piling for a bit.


Our squad is definitely far from complete, because Jota, Nunez, Gomez are not reliable and Robbo is slowly feeling that his prime has left him completely.

3. Board doesn't back Arsenal??

Maybe if you go and track back past transfers to see how much Arsenal paid for their players compared to how much Liverpool spent over the last few years. Let's track back since 22/23 season.

Declan Rice
Trossard
Havertz
Jesus
Zinchenko
David Raya
Gabriel
Odegaard
Timber
Calafiori
Merino
Kiwior
Fabio Viera
Jorginho

Yes, the Kroenkes have backed Arsenal quite heavily over the last few years but they invested in the wrong people in the squad this year. Bear in mind, Rice, Havertz, Jesus, all cost big money.

The only ones we signed of note are
Gakpo
Nunez
Mac Allister
Gravenberch
Endo
Szoboszlai
Chiesa

We've actually have not had a major defender signing since Konate and we only signed Chiesa this season. The only effective window was the entire midfield squad. That was the only huge ass backing within this period but they have been immense for us, as well as Gakpo which is slowly becoming a bit of a bargain one as well. There were some like Carvalho, who moved on after just a couple seasons...etc. If we discount everything, we've not been backed heavily except this one whole midfield squad. Sure our recent transfers have a lot of misses too, but at least those we spent significant money or at least some money have been spent wisely.

4. The Right Mentality of the squad

The reason why sides like Man Utd and Man City are not performing this season because of the mentality of every individual in the squad. Key losses shouldn't rattle your morale. When we had a huge injury crisis in 20/21 with no Centerbacks, after a poor run of form, we literally fought like hell and with such confidence to even claim and snatch 3rd place at the end of the season. We had the right mentality going against Chelsea in last year's league cup with the kids. The squad at least its core members have been focused in games but also continue to have a buzz off the pitch. That's why we are where we are today, brimming with confidence as we play. That's why almost every year of Klopp's reign since the 2018/19 season, except the 20/21 year, we've been able to get at least 1 minor trophy every year consistently. But you know me, I want those major trophies.

5. The right manager

All squads need the right manager to do the job well or pull struggling sides out of the Abyss. After qualifying for 2 grand finals within the first time of asking, we knew Klopp was the best man for the job even after he arrived to help an ailing squad quarter way into the season. From there the trajectory has been going up and up and up, so it was a bit of a bummer that he announced his resignation all of a sudden. But he knew someone that would be the worthy man to take his reins in Arne Slot. Like Klopp, Slot knows how to win titles, both as a player with Sepp Van Den berg's old club Zwolle in his 2nd Dutch Division, and also as a manager in Feyenoord.

No doubt Arteta is a good coach in his own right. And by right as a player he should have a tonne of experience winning titles, having done so as a player at Rangers and a few minor ones at Arsenal. And he should have gained further coaching experience having been an understudy to Pep Guardiola for a couple years. 

However if after 5 years, after so much financial backing from your owners, you're still stuck in second place, even with a fully fit squad, something is seriously wrong here. With Man City collapsing this season it was a golden opportunity for LFC, Chelsea or Arsenal to have a go. You're watching one of your main rivals getting the premier league title, potentially twice because Arteta has witnessed Liverpool's title winning season when he first came in to replace Emery.

No comments:

Post a Comment